Industry Collaboration Award


The Industry Collaboration Award recognises an exemplary skills development collaboration between at least one employer/industry body and at least one organisation delivering nationally recognised training. 


To nominate for the Industry Collaboration Award: 

  • at least one party must be an industry organisation (e.g. employer, enterprise, group of enterprises, industry association, industry advisory body, trade union or professional association);
  • at least one party must be delivering nationally recognised training or directly contributing to the outcomes of nationally recognised training which leads to formal qualifications or Statements of Attainment under the Australian Qualifications Framework; and
  • the collaboration must have won the equivalent state/territory training award in 2020.

Please note that nominations will not be accepted from organisations operating under a contractual 'parntership' agreements.

2020 state or territory winners of this category are nominated to enter a short-listing process for the Australian Training Awards.

The original application from state or territory winners of this category already address the award criteria below and are automatically submitted to the Australian Training Awards by the state or territory training awards.

Selection Process and Key Dates

Selection process and Key Dates
Selection Process Key Dates

Apply through your state and territory training awards

**Winner of the state/territory aligned category is automatically entered into the shortlisting selection process for the Australian Training Awards

Opening and closing dates differ for each state and territory training awards
Finalists and non-shortlisted applicants notified. October 2020
Finalists attend a judging interview in Melbourne 19 November 2020
Winner is announced at the Australian Training Awards presentation dinner event in Melbourne 20 November 2020

Preparing your application

Section A: Overview

This information will not be considered or used for short listing or judging purposes, but it may be used as a summary of your organisation throughout the Awards process.

Provide an overview of the collaboration, including:

·        name of the collaboration,

·        lead organisation and each of the parties to the collaboration. 

·        purpose and objectives of the collaboration.

·        origin of the collaboration (how the parties came together).

·        details of the environment in which the collaboration operates.

·        how the collaboration functions in practice, including lines of communication between the parties to the collaboration.

(limit: 500 words)

Section B: Applicants will be judged against the following criteria:

Criterion 1: Outstanding practice of the collaboration

Criterion 2: Achievements of the collaboration for training

Criterion 3: Training impacts of the collaboration

Criterion 4: Sustainability and future of the collaboration


This award category requires the applicant to address the following award criteria. Please be aware that your responses to the criteria will be strengthened by the inclusion of measurable results and appropriate indicators (including customer satisfaction data and other types of external validation).

The considerations listed under each criterion are provided to clarify what to include when writing against the criteria.

Criterion 1: Outstanding practice of the collaboration 

  • What is the basis of the collaboration partner’s agreement that have been so successful?
  • What specific training need is being addressed by the collaboration?
  • What exemplary or innovative aspects are a feature of the training collaboration?

    (limit: 800 words)

Criterion 2: Achievements of the collaboration for training

  • What are examples of excellence in the training delivered?
  • What training outcomes have been achieved [including qualifications and skill sets awarded]?
  • What improvements in the quality of learning and assessment been implemented?
  • What, if any, new or improved career pathways and opportunities have been created?

    (limit: 800 words)

Criterion 3: Training impacts of the collaboration

  • How has the collaboration benefited, the participants, the community, and the collaborating organisations and the broader training system?
  • What improvements in the processes/procedures of all collaborating organisations have been implemented?
  • What contribution is there to social equity, especially increasing the participation of people from groups underrepresented in the industry or workplaces?

    (limit: 800 words)

Criterion 4: Sustainability and future of the collaboration

  • What, if any, aspects of the collaboration utilises government funding? If so, how could the collaboration be continued if government funding ceased?
  • How can the outcomes of the collaboration be replicated or modelled for other industries?
  • What quality improvement/performance evaluations of the collaboration that are in place and planned?

    (limit: 800 words)

 Apply Now